top of page

Top 5 Lipstick MUST Haves! MAC edition

Good evening babes and babettes :)

It is currently 5:14 pm in Southern California, and ironically, it is a rainy, cold, gloomy day! My favorite thing to do on a gloomy day, is snuggle up with comfy clothes with the heater on, listen to some good music, write and eat some soup! So I figured I would do a little random blog post because shucks, I love you guys, and I love writing!

// Today I am telling you about my top must have lipsticks! Well, MAC lipsticks I should say ;)

I have an entire big container just full of all of my lipsticks, ranging from MAC, YSL (my babies!!!) NYX, Anastasia Beverly Hills, Kat Von D, Rimmel, Lancome, NARS, ColourPop, and more!

But I figure, MAC is the most popular of lipsticks, because they aren't too too expensive, have a massive variety with tons of different finishes, and more!

If you are unfamiliar with what the term "finishes" means, that means what the product looks like on the lip, and also feels like! MAC offers a lot of finishes from satin, matte, amplified, pearl, and more! What that means is, if the lipstick is matte, it won't have any shine, and will be very pigmented with lots of color! Whereas satin, is a bit more of a shine, and won't always be quite as pigmented, and then there are some that are sheer, that can look scary in the bullet, but once you swatch it and put it on, it's much less pigmented and scary than it looks!

My personal favorite of all time, is matte. But, that's because I am a bit more daring and I like me a nice bold, intense lip!

So, I am sharing with you just a few of my little MAC babies :)

I have quite a few more, but I thought I would share the bare minimum considering this is probably already a long post!

Lets jump right in, and please remember, these are just my personal preference, and I love all lipsticks and colors, these are just what I prefer and what suit my skin and features most! So maybe if you are a pale princess like myself, you'll be introduced to a new color you may love! :)

From left to right we have:

Russian Red, Rebel, Morange, Myth, and lastly but certainly not least, Velvet Teddy.

As you can tell, some of these are quite bright, bold, and daring, just how I like 'em :) and most of them are of matte finish, again, as I pefer!

Russian Red is my absolute favorite blue toned red ever! It is a matte finish, it has immense staying power, it's deep, not too bright, and definitely bold! What having a blue toned red means that there is a blue base in the red, if you look hard, you can see more blue! Other reds have orange bases, yellow bases, pink bases etc. but blue toned are my favorite because they make your teeth look the whitest! Plus, blue based reds are much more retro and old school pin up, which I am a huge fan of!

Next we have Rebel, which is a deep dark magenta/plum shade! In the bullet it looks much more plum toned and vampy, but when applied and blended out, it's quite a magenta shade, which I am not the biggest fan of on myself, but with the right lip liner, it really pulls out the plum hues and makes it much more vampy! The finish on this one is a Satin finish, which means there is some shine to it, and that it is slightly more sheer than a full blown matte shade! Which is why it applies more like a magenta than a plum! :)

Thirdly, we have one of my favorite lipsticks of all time. This chic, edgy, beautiful babe is called "Morange" oh my gosh, I swear, this color is life changing. This is an Amplified finish, which still has sheerness to it, but it is bright, it is still bold, and is DEFINITELY amped up in color! This is a gorgeous orange, it can look lightly like a very orange based red, but when it's on, it is definitely a bright, in your face,highlighter orange that I am in LOVE with!

Next we have Myth, if you are a super pale princess like me, or even range to medium to slightly darker skin tones, this lipstick shade is an absolute must. If you are a makeup artist, you NEED this in your collection and in your kit. I have never once had a bride, prom girl, photo shoot etc. ever unhappy with this shade. Myth is a very nude shade with a peachy undertone, it is a Satin finish, but for all of these years I swore it was a matte because it is so pigmented and lasts all day long! Myth can be played up based on the liner you wear with it, you can do flat out nude, a mauve nude, a peach nude, a pink nude etc. on my darker skinned beauties, I use Myth as a highlight shade in the center of their lips for a pop of light, and it makes everyones lips look bigger and plumper! I will never stop using this shade, it is an absolute staple for everyone!

Lastly, is my sweet, my baby, Velvet Teddy. Ahhh, she is my beige/mauve matte baby and princess and the lipstick I wear most... EVER. Vevlet Teddy is a matte, brown/mauve/taupey/pinky/beige dark nude, I know, so confusing, so many colors, but it is truly that amazing and beautiful, and again, can be played up based on the lip liner you use. If you use a pink liner, it'll look more pink, if you use a brown, it'll look much more brown, mauve etc. This color was initially made so popular because of Kylie Jenner, when her lip color was the only thing trending in the makeup world, it was rumored that she used this color because it is so 90's and Kylie-esque. In reality, she wears Whirl and Soar lip pencil by MAC with some other magicalness, but since those have been sold out for ages, and I know so many people are dying for that look, try this baby out. You won't be sad! In my honest opinion, I know I will get killed for saying this, but I much prefer my Velvet Teddy over my Gerard Cosmetics 1995, formulated by Jaclyn Hill. I own both, and I will pick my Vevlet Teddy over 1995 anyday. I think Vevlet Teddy is much more Kylie-90's because it is much more mauve/rose brown undertones, whereas 1995 on me persoanlly, is very red and orange and makes my teeth look super yellow

FAQ:

Q: How much does a MAC lipstick cost?

A: $16.00

Q: Do they smell like chemicals?

A: Not at all! They have a very faint, soft vanilla smell!

Q: How much is shipping?

A: U.S Free, always! No minimum!

Q: How much product do you get?

A: 3 grams, 0.1 oz :)

Q: Were you paid to say this or sent any of this for free?

A: Not at all! I wish haha! All opinions are my personal opinions, and I purchased each and every single one of my MAC lipsticks on my own, with my makeup earned from being a freelance Makeup Artist, OR got a lipstick from the Back To MAC program! http://www.maccosmetics.com/giving_back/back_to_mac.tmpl

So this concludes my MAC top 5 must have lipsticks! I do hope you guys enjoy, please make sure to follow me on Instagram @BeautyNewsReviews and subscribe to me on YouTube which is also BeautyNewsReviews

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page